Time

A few weeks ago I had kept my daughter home from school because she had a stomach ache.  She had been pulling it a lot over the summer to try to get out of swim lessons.  Not to mention she did inherit her fathers nervous stomach.  She get stressed about anything and her stomach starts bothering her.  In the morning before her lessons she’d complain that her tummy was bothering her, it would get worse as we entered the parking lot, as soon as we got to the pool her tummy was fine.  Well, this day she was really nauseous and I figured it would be better for her to stay home than to possibly get her classmates sick.

I had put my son in his chair and had given him breakfast.  The LAST person I would expect to get after me about the time is my then 17 month old son.  How many children that age have a really good idea of time?  Apparently mine does.  I was going to take breakfast upstairs to my daughter when my son made a noise to get my attention.  Basic conversation goes as this:

“I have to take breakfast to your sister.”

He looks at me and shakes his head no.

“She needs to eat too.”

He shakes his head again and points at the clock there on the wall.

At this point I’m a bit dumbfounded because it was 7:30 am.  This is the time we are normally headed out the door to take my daughter to school.  After that I tell him that his sister isn’t feeling well and that she is staying home with us.  He seems ok with this and goes back to eating.

My son never stops amazing me.  We were afraid he would have some issues as he got older because he was unresponsive for 4 minutes at his time of birth, but it has not phased him one bit.  He is smart as a whip and never stops moving.

22049964_10210203209337166_6563805390988676113_n

Leave a comment